Back to blogging and some big changes 

By my count it’s nearly three and a half years since my last blog post. Wow. Time flies whether or not you’re having fun. Which isn’t to say I haven’t been having fun. There have been a lot of good memories in the intervening years. I’ve been telling myself for weeks that it’s time to get blogging again but I haven’t had the courage. I even thought about starting a new blog that would make a fresh start (for reasons that may become clear later) but I’ve been on a big push to get out of my comfort zone lately. And this is definitely outside my comfort zone.

Okay, here goes. I’ve been having a hard time. Not to go into details (I’m not that brave) but I’ve reached a crossroads. I’m doing a lot of soul searching. And it’s looking more and more like I might not be suited to this whole teaching thing after all. Over a decade in this job and that is a very scary proposition. There are so many parts of teaching that I like. I have immense respect for those people who were born to teach and who have a gift and a passion for teaching.

I’m just not sure I’m one of those people.

The next part is really scary. What next? I’ve been planning a life as a teacher since I was in school myself. If I’m not a teacher, then what am I? Or rather, who am I? As terrifying as these questions are, I’m also feeling so excited and, to be honest, liberated. I don’t think I realised what a burden it all was until I admitted to myself that something didn’t fit. And now, perhaps for the first time in my life, I have no plan and nothing but possibilities. One step at a time, I have to start over and see where life takes me.

If you’re reading this: keep your fingers crossed for me.

If you’re me: stay hopeful and watch this space.

Leave a Reply

